HC 38T vs. HC 39PH Hull Difference?

Moderators: warmrain, mimoza

HC 38T vs. HC 39PH Hull Difference?

Postby martinus » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:00 am

Hi,
Very new to the community and the forum, so please handle me with care. Not currently a HC owner but they are high on my list for a new boat this summer. 1 boat currently on the market in the PNW is a 39PH but the only thing I can find is that it’s a pilot house on a 38T hull. Are the hull of the 38T and the 39PH identical or has the hull been lengthened a foot as the nomenclature might suggest? Any input would be helpful on the subject matter.
Thank you,
Martinus
martinus
Landlubber

Re: HC 38T vs. HC 39PH Hull Difference?

Postby seabound » Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:04 am

I am by no means an expert, but from the few pics I can find online of a 39ph, basically the same, but the rudder is completely different. It appears to have a shoe underneath as my 38T does not. You need someone way more experienced with these boats than I am... Good luck
seabound
Cabinboy

Postby martinus » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:00 am

Thank you, Seabound.
I recognize the only way to know how she sails is to sail her, but a sea trial will only tell you as much as the conditions allow. Trying to figure out how the vast experiences of the 38T will translate.
Cheers,
Martinus
martinus
Landlubber

Postby seabound » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:21 am